Newbie - pass wing mirror and engine issues

Kevlar

Hi, I'm completely new to Mantas having been a Capri man for years, but couldn't resist an original survivor GTE that came up for sale recently.

Drove it home yesterday and ran really well, other than it felt like it was missing a bit under load, particularly hills. This was only minor until the end of the road trip (160 miles) when a couple of times I tried accelerating in second and it just died for a few seconds before jerking back into life. I planned to do all the obvious, plugs, leads etc but thought I'd check to see if there are any regular culprits for this problem?

Other question is its not fitted with a passenger door mirror, however the seller included one in a bunch of spares. How hard are they to fit? There is just a blanking plate there at the moment.

The drivers side mirror also blows in at high speed, any tips to get it to stay put?

Cheers guys, love the car!

Kev

Hi Kevlar,

i did exactly the same as you are going to do, a blanking plate was on the passenger door and I changed it for a mirror to aid in parking. It’s really easy to change, just remove the door pull handle, interior catch and door card and you will find that the blank is attached to a long curved guide inside the door and secured with a small screw on the back of the blank and one at the bottom of the guide, just swap them out, they lift up and out, the glass can still remain in just make sure the glass is properly located inside the new guide. I found the plastic surround on the door catch awkward to remove as I was scared of it being brittle with time and maybe breaking with leverage but it was ok.

regarding the problem with your drivers mirror, all will be fine if you keep your speed below 100mph!

Edited by Mike.