400 Fibre Glass Vents

huw

Hi. got some manta 400 fibre glass bonnet vents and diamond vent. Any body know the dimensions for where they should be set in place on the bonnet.

Dont know weather to rivet them on some how or some kind of glue. any ideas would be good . thank you

ah ok.... if no-one on here has the measurements (I expect several do, though whether they will give them out to a non club member is another matter ;)) then I can probably measure the vents on mine when I get back after the weekend.

The reason I asked was because I have a 400 bonnet but I'm tempted to swap it for a plain fibreglass one (if such items exist) - and I am potentially driving past gwent tomorrow night.

Good luck

Jason

metal sorry. that would be a great help if you could measure up yours. thank you. theres no rush on it. ive been working it for about 4 years lol

If you open your original metal hood and look underneath you can actually see where they are supposed to go as the frame has holes at those locations :)

The diamond one is to let heat from the radiator out of the engine bay, and the two sidewents are for intake and the other is to cool down the exhaust (16V 400 engine) :)

Edited by monzta

The holes underneath the bonnet sounds promissing. Thanks for that info. Ill have a look on the weekend.

Ill also find some 400 pics and try scale it up. Its only for looks anyway so doesnt really matter if its wrong.

Thats an artists drawing to show some of the differences between the road and rally homologation. You need to check the FISA homologation papers.

Nice try though!

OMG

motor%20manta%20400.jpg

The following pic is from an article in a car magazine making a review of the car in 1981

motorraum.jpg

JamesPictures017.jpg

opel-manta-400-motor-opel.preview.jpg

Do you need more pics of original i400 that has got normal Manta shocks ?