Mig Welder?

Aggressor

Always go for the best you can afford, you want something man enough to do chassis work but also need to remember that it has to go down to low enough settings to enable the welding of thin body panels. If it is just for hobby work then I can highly recommend a clarke 150/160TE from personal experience. You will hear that SIP's are to be avoided but I have no real experience of one other than a friend's, theirs had some wire feed issues but they can be fixed.

Also don't think that small bottles are cheaper unless you are literally doing 2 inches of weld. Especially if you are learning you'll want a nice big refillable bottle of argoshield light or similar as it will speed up the learning process and be far cheaper.

All the best

Jason

p.s. I can't recommend automatic helmets enough - really help for learning

Always go for the best you can afford, you want something man enough to do chassis work but also need to remember that it has to go down to low enough settings to enable the welding of thin body panels. If it is just for hobby work then I can highly recommend a clarke 150/160TE from personal experience. You will hear that SIP's are to be avoided but I have no real experience of one other than a friend's, theirs had some wire feed issues but they can be fixed.

Also don't think that small bottles are cheaper unless you are literally doing 2 inches of weld. Especially if you are learning you'll want a nice big refillable bottle of argoshield light or similar as it will speed up the learning process and be far cheaper.

All the best

Jason

p.s. I can't recommend automatic helmets enough - really help for learning

As above, Clark Welder about 150Amp will be a damn good bit of kit... I've got one.

SIP steer clear, had 2 SIP Welders, and same issues with both, just not good kit at all.